Pumpkin and Butterscotch…Who Knew

Standard

Autumn is my FAVORITE season by far. I love the cool weather and colorful scenery that nature provides us during this time of year. I also love all the flavors of the season. Pumpkin, cloves,cinnamon, nutmeg, aromatic pear and apple desserts, ahhhh I just love it all I tell you.

There is nothing I love more than the smell of fall baking in my home. I also prefer, most of the time, to make muffins and breads from scratch because they are usually cheaper than buying pre-made ones from the store. I always have all the ingredients, at any given time, in my house to whip together a quick bread or muffin recipe. So I tried two new recipes this weekend that were amazingly good and a big hit with the fam. They were so good I decided to share the recipes.

The first was a pumpkin and butterscotch muffin recipe that I found on the Allrecipes.com site. This is a cool site to get some good recipes. I always try to find recipes that have good ratings and this site usually has a pretty good amount of reviews to look through.

The recipe was for mini muffins but I made regular sized muffins. The recipe as written provided me with 10 nice sized muffins. I would post a pic of my finished product, however the muffins didn’t last longer than a day in my house. On the site there are a lot of pics posted by others.

So try the recipe out and let me know what you thought of it. I am placing the link to the recipe below.

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Mini-Pumpkin-Butterscotch-Muffins/Detail.aspx

I end up having so pumpkin left over so I decided I was going to make pumpkin pancakes the next morning with the leftovers.

For this, I actually found a recipe from none other than the dynamic homemaker her self Martha Stewart. I have never tried any of her recipes so I was a little excited to see what she had to offer in the recipe area. I don’t particularly care for her design ideas usually, although I do like her crafts so this was a chance for me to try something else she dabbles in.

People the pancakes were AWESOME! So awesome that I immediately text my best friend to tell her about them. Super moist and lots of flavor. I did alter the recipe by adding the butterscotch chips to the batter (I figured it worked well in the muffins why not throw some in the pancakes, what the heck I like to ad livin the kitchen anyway). I am sure they would have been just as tasty without the butterscotch though, because they were perfect in texture. I think next time though I will try to alter the recipe and add some different spices and applesauce instead of pumpkin and see how that turns out.

Pumpkin and Butterscotch Pancakes

Again I am posting the link to the recipe below. If you don’t try the muffin recipe you should definitely try this pancake recipe.

http://www.marthastewart.com/271839/pumpkin-pancakes

Well all I hope you take the time to enjoy one of these scrumptious recipes this season, and until next time, enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Recipe Remix….Apple Cinnamon Muffins « thejellybeansoflife

Leave a comment